At AUI we collaborate with the scientific community to plan, build, and operate cutting-edge facilities.


We cultivate excellence, deliver value, enhance education, and engage the public. Our expertise focuses on continually improving research and development, user facilities, management and operations, technology incubation, and community engagement through workshop and conference planning.

AUI was created in the public interest as a non-profit organization to establish and manage one of the first Federally Funded Research and Development Centers (FFRDCs), Brookhaven National Laboratory. We pioneered the user facility model allowing the research community to tackle science projects at a scale that no single institution could afford individually. User facilities are the backbone of today’s national lab system, providing access to cutting edge facilities to enable new technologies that push the boundaries of science.

We continue to be the trusted manager of the US radio astronomy assets for over 70 years. We lead an international coalition to develop, build, and operate the groundbreaking ALMA observatory. And we are continually expanding our focus to address national challenges such as cybersecurity with our incubator AUI Labs.

Our Values

AUI values the pursuit and transmission of truth through the enabling of the scientific community


Openness, honesty and fairness are core AUI principles; our employees’ creditability is a source of great pride.


We are committed to science impact and the advancement of knowledge; we actively pursue innovative partnerships.


We believe our success in complex projects depends on hard work and acute attention to detail; we focus on and deliver results.


Engaging science enthusiasts globally across organizations, cultures and borders; we promote science advancement.

A History of Firsts Drives Our Future


AUI is Chartered

  • to acquire, plan, construct and operate laboratories and other facilities that would unite the resources

Brookhaven National Laboratory Opens


DNA Imaging

  • Brookhaven researchers discover a new way to study DNA and produce a photographic image of DNA synthesis in plant roots

NRAO & GBO Are Developed

  • AUI begins managing the National Radio Astronomy Observatory and Green-bank Observatory for the National Science Foundation

A Message from the Board

AUI is an agile, dynamic and inclusive scientific facilities management organization, co-creating scientific value in partnership with the academic research community and the federal government. That is why we have chosen leaders in our Board of Trustees who are prominent research scientists, active users of AUI facilities, and members with expertise relevant to solving the nation’s toughest challenges. AUI is well positioned to serve the national and scientific interest as a neutral body within its relevant scientific communities; it is mission-centric rather than representing the special interests of any specific entity or group.

As the pioneer of the user facility model, we continue to lead in the creative development and management of partnerships, tools, and facilities to address challenges too large for any singular institution to own. As a research-focused, not-for-profit manager of scientific facilities for the benefit of the research community, AUI can adapt its strategy and reconfigure the range of skills represented by the members of its Board of Trustees as required to meet emerging challenges.

Numerous Nobel Prize winners, and members of the National Academies have served on the AUI Board of Trustees, bringing their problem-solving talents to unlock the mysteries of the universe and address national challenges. Throughout our history, we have continued to make scientific breakthroughs possible. Through the design, construction, and management of ALMA, BNL, VLA, and GBO we have enabled the imaging of a black hole event horizon, countless advancements in the field of physics and nuclear medicine, discovery of planetary disc formation, founding of interstellar organic chemistry, and discovery of binary pulsars.

With the support of our Board, AUI continues to make scientific breakthroughs possible, and solve challenges facing the underserved sectors who often lack the human and financial resources to meet managerial, operational, and cybersecurity challenges. The AUI Board is committed to realizing the broadest public benefits that flow from vigorous scientific research. As part of this commitment, AUI supports effective programs of education and public outreach, and seeks to help build a scientific enterprise that is broadly diverse and representative of our society.

Board of Trustees

Honorary Trustees

Malcolm R. Beasley

Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor of Applied Physics, Emeritus, Stanford University

Barry Cooperman

Professor of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania

Martha Haynes

Goldwin Smith Professor of Astronomy, Cornell University

Lyman A Page, Jr.

James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics, Princeton University

H. Warren Moos

Research Professor and Gerhard H. Dieke Professor Emeritus of Physics and Astronomy, Johns Hopkins University

Robert Williams

Astronomer Emeritus, Space Telescope Science Institute

Anneila I. Sargent

Ira S. Bowen Professor of Astronomy, California Institute of Technology

E. Scott Kirkpatrick

Professor, School of Engineering and Computer Science, Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Joseph H. Taylor, Jr.

James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Physics, Princeton University

David Tatel

Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit since 1994

Roger-Maurice Bonnet

International Space Science Institute, Switzerland

William J. Welch

Professor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley

Eugene H. Levy

Andrew Hays Buchanan Professor of Astrophysics, Rice University

John J. Lively

Director of Administration and Finance (Retired), Carnegie Institution for Science, Washington, DC

James M. Moran

Donald H. Menzel Professor of Astrophysics, Harvard University, Senior Scientist, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

George Miley

Professor of Astronomy, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Suzanne Staggs

Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics, Princeton University

You are now leaving AUI

You will be redirected to the related partnering organization's website.

You will be redirected to
in 4 seconds...

Click the link above to continue or CANCEL